Journey to Africa: Grand Opening Event

Saturday May 4, 2013
Blank Park Zoo
7401 SW 9th St.
Des Moines

Blank Park Zoo will unveil its biggest expansion in zoo history May 4 with Jaama Kwa – Connection to Africa. At the Grand Opening, meet the Zoo’s new black rhinos, Ayana and Kiano, enjoy African-themed crafts and so much more. The new exhibit includes rhino, giraffe, eland, watusi, kori bustard, spur-thighed tortoise, ostrich and more. 

View Larger Map
To get driving directions to this location, enter your address below (e.g. 801 Grand Ave, Des Moines, IA)
View All Events »
Also in the Area:
    Items within:


    Filter by type:
Showing 12 items.
Showing 1 to 12 of 12 items.
Attractions
Family Fun
Museums
Nature
Outdoor Recreation & Sports
Blank Park Zoo
7401 SW 9th St
Des Moines, IA 50315
Ph: 515.285.4722
click to view
Event
Eggstravaganza
7401 SW 9th St.
Des Moines, IA
Ph: 515.974.2523
Saturday Apr 19, 2014
0.29 miles away
click to view
Event
Zoo Brew
7401 SW 9th St.
Des Moines, IA
Ph: 515.974.2523
Wednesday Jun 4, 2014
0.29 miles away
click to view
Event
Campout at the Zoo
7401 SW 9th St.
Des Moines, IA
Ph: 515.285.4722
Friday Jun 13, 2014 - Saturday Jun 14, 2014
0.29 miles away
click to view
Event
Adventure Days Festival
7401 SW 9th St.
Des Moines, IA
Ph: 515.285.4722
Friday Jul 11, 2014 - Saturday Jul 12, 2014
0.29 miles away
click to view
Event
Bridal Sneak Peek
7401 SW 9th St.
Des Moines, IA
Ph: 515.974.2506
Friday Aug 29, 2014
0.29 miles away
click to view
Event
Zooktoberfest
7401 SW 9th St.
Des Moines, IA
Ph: 515.285.4722
Thursday Sep 25, 2014
0.29 miles away
click to view
Event
Night Eyes
7401 SW 9th St.
Des Moines, IA
Ph: 515.285.4722
Thursday Oct 16, 2014 - Sunday Oct 19, 2014
0.29 miles away
click to view
Event
Santa at the Zoo
7401 SW 9th St.
Des Moines, IA
Ph: 515.285.4722
Saturday Dec 6, 2014
0.29 miles away
click to view
Golf Courses
A.H. Blank Golf Course
808 County Line Rd.
Des Moines, IA 50301
Ph: 515.248.6300
0.34 miles away
click to view
Attractions
Historical
History
Museums
National Historic Landmark
Fort Des Moines Museum and Education Center
75 E Army Post Rd.
Des Moines, IA 50315
Ph: 515.282.8060
0.77 miles away
click to view
Attractions
Family Fun
Nature
Outdoor Recreation & Sports
Fort Des Moines Park
7200 E 5th St.
Des Moines, IA 50315
Ph: 515.285.7612
0.84 miles away
click to view
Search for more listings